Gorillaz Release Beachy New Video 'Humility' Starring Jack Black

Gorillaz Release Beachy New Video ‘Humility’ Starring Jack Black

Posted by May 31, 2018 Comment

Much-loved virtual band Gorillaz (aka the very non-virtual Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett) have released a brand-new video for the song ‘Humility’ off their upcoming album The Now Now, out June 29th.

The beachy video and road trip-worthy tune give off some serious Cali vibes. No doubt this track will be on many a summer playlist. On top of that, the video features a very Jack-Black-like Jack Black appearance.

The band announced the new album just yesterday, surprising fans with imminent new music only a year and change after their explosive LP Humanz was released in April 2017. Humanz was the band’s first studio album release in six years.

‘Humility’ is just about as far away tonally as you can get from Humanz, which had a darker and more visceral sound overall. Albarn said in an interview with Q Magazine that he told the album’s collaborators to imagine Donald Trump winning the 2016 presidential election (this was before he actually did):

“I told everyone to imagine you’re in America after the inauguration and it’s the worst-case scenario: how would you feel that night? Let’s make a party record about the world going f–king nuts.”

Watch the video for ‘Humility’ below, and check out another song, ‘Lake Zurich’, released alongside this one.

The Now Now tracklist is as follows, for your pleasure:

1. Humility – feat George Benson
2. Tranz
3. Hollywood – feat Snoop Dogg + Jamie Principle
4. Kansas
5. Sorcererz
6. Idaho
7. Lake Zurich
8. Magic City
9. Fire Flies
10. One Percent
11. Souk Eye

The band also announced some new tour dates, which you can check out right here. Pre-order the album here.

About Haley Rose-Lyon

Bleeding Cool Assistant Editor and occasional writer of things. Nice Guy™.

(Last Updated May 31, 2018 5:02 pm )

Related Posts

None found