Things To Do In Philadelphia In May If You Like Comics

Posted by April 25, 2015 Comment

By Nikolai Fomich

Graphic_&_Novel

From Free Comic Book Day celebrations to Wizard World to visits by Neil Gaiman and Neal Adams, here’s your guide to the comic and geek-related events happening in and around Philadelphia during the month of May!

Friday, May 1, through Sunday, May 31Graphic & Novel: A Showcase of Local Comic Book Artists, Visual Communicators and Storytellers

This exhibit will be curated by Chase Alexander and Gaby Heit and “will feature local talents of diverse aesthetics whose work shares the connection to the comic book (sequential art and design) medium; be it through visual communication and storytelling, and designs that feature the characters and stories that have influenced the pop culture landscape.” The exhibit will open on May 1, and continues on throughout the month, “with related programming…to be announced.”

Saturday, May 2, 11:00AMLocust Moon’s Free Comic Book Day Extravaganza!

Come by Locust Moon for a day filled with live music and free comics, featuring local Philly cartoonists Kelly Phillips, Dave Proch, Lindsey Wavrek, and others sketching for kids!

Saturday, May 2, 11:00AMAtomic City Comics’ Atomicon

Free Comic Book Day and the South Street Spring Festival join forces and become the first annual Atomicon! Featuring cosplay contests, all-ages workshops, DJs, free comics, and much more!

Saturday, May 2, 7:00PMAn Evening with Neil Gaiman at The Tower Theatre

Neil Gaiman (Sandman, American Gods) will be appearing at the Tower Theatre, located right outside of Philadelphia. Neil will “tell stories and read stories, answer questions, and in his own words “amaze, befuddle and generally delight. It will be fun and odd and not like any other evening with Neil Gaiman.”

Wednesday, May 6, 5:00PM-8:00PMComic Book Legend Neal Adams appearing at Brave New Worlds Willow Grove

The legendary Neal Adams (Batman, Green Lantern/Green Arrow) with be appearing at Brave New Worlds’ Willow Grove location. He will be “selling prints and signing from 5-8pm on Wednesday, May 6th.”

Thursday, May 7, through Sunday, May 10Wizard World Comic Con Philadelphia

Philly’s annul comic convention, Wizard World 2015 will host a wide range of guests – including comic creators Dan Slott, J. G. Jones and Peter David, actors Stephen Amell, Hayley Atwell, and David Tennant, and wrestlers Randy Orton, Sting and Diva Paige.

Saturday, May 30Alexandra Quarterly Release Party

Come celebrate the release of the new Alexandria Quarterly, a “curated portfolio of art and literature,” at Locust Moon Comics!

 

(Last Updated April 25, 2015 12:23 am )

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.

View All Posts