Things to Do in London If You Like Comics: October 2018

Posted by October 1, 2018 Comment

Things to do in London in September… if you like comics, of course. Exhibitions followed by events… let us know if we missed any,

Exhibitions:

The Art Of Arthur Ranson, Orbital Comics, We are very pleased to announce an exhibition by British comics legend Arthur Ranson. The show will run from October 5th to November 4th, and will feature original artwork spanning Arthur’s illustrious career.

I Object, British Museum.  A wide variety of objects (including comics and cartoons) will be on display in the exhibition – from graffiti on a Babylonian brick to a banknote with hidden rude words, from satirical Turkish shadow puppets to a recently acquired ‘pussy’ hat worn on a women’s march. See what tales these objects tell – sometimes deadly serious, often humorous, always with conviction. Unlock the messages and symbols these people used, and get closer to understanding them. September 6th to December 31st

Extracting a laugh! An exhibition of original cartoons on the subject of Dentists, Dentistry, and their patients by leading gag cartoonists such as Mel Calman, Matt, Nick Newman, Simon Bond, Mike Williams, Larry, and Martin Honeysett. Putney Political Cartoon Gallery. September 13th -30th October

The Art of Sunbeam: A Tillie Walden Exhibition. Orbital Comics. Coinciding with the release of this major new graphic novel from Avery Hill Publishing, a collection of original pages from On a Sunbeam and a selection of other classic Tillie Walden works on display. September 21st – 4th October

Events:

Tuesday, 2nd

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, Shoe Lane Library, Little New Street. 5.30-7pm

A fun and informal book group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels. Make friends, converse, get recommendations and choose from a wide selection of books to borrow and take home. From novices to fanatics: open to all.

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gardens. 6.30-7.30pm.

Discussion and recommendations of comics and graphic novels, free to borrow from the library’s extensive collection.

Thursday, 4th

Welcome to Oddleigh Launch Party with Tor Freeman, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm

Acclaimed author and illustrator Tor Freeman will be here to launch her new Bog Eyed Books collection Welcome to Oddleigh on Thursday 4th October, 7-9pm

Make Your Own Mini-Comics 1, London College of Communication, Elephant & Castle, Free, 4-5.15pm, 5.15-6.30pm

In this workshop led by Ian Horton, Reader in Graphic Design at LCC, and Juliet Sugg, Associate Lecturer at LCC, we will first look at the exhibition of Mini-comics titled ‘Into/Out of the Box’ on display in Everything Happens So Much. We will discuss the themes and issues raised by the exhibition, part of London Design Festival. We will then be making our own Mini-Comics that will then be included as part of the display. No specialist drawing skills are required for this workshop and all materials (pens and paper) will be provided to make your own Mini-Comic.

Friday, 5th

Arthur Ranson’s Mazeworld Launch and Signing, Orbital Comics, 5pm

The UK launch Arthur Ranson’ new edition of his classic work Mazeworld from Rebellion Publishing. Arthur will be in attendance to sign copies from 5pm on Friday October 5th, followed by the opening of the exhibition. To further mark the occasion, renowned fine art print house Blacklist Editions will be producing two limited edition prints featuring Psi Judge Anderson. Details as follows: Acrylic Screen Prints 1: One colour; 2: CMYK 4 colour separation on 310 gsm Southbank Paper 70cm X 50cm Edition of 50 Signed and numbered

Kingdom Launch Party with Jon McNaught, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
The extraordinary Jon McNaught will be with us to launch his beautiful new book from Nobrow: Kingdom!

Sunday 7th

Batcocktober Comic Mart, Royal National Hotel, Noon.

Monday 8th

Laydeez do Comics, The Koppel Project Hive, Holborn, 6.30pm-8.30pm

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, Marylebone, 6:30 – 8pm

The Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club provides an opportunity for new readers and veterans of the medium to meet, discuss and share knowledge and opinions on anything related to the topic. However, we don’t intend for this to merely be a talking shop – we also hope to invite guest speakers, review films, and engage in activities related to the medium such as conventions, competitions and so on. All are welcome!

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, Old Brompton Rd, 6:30 – 7.30pm

We talk about comics, graphic novels, web-comics, comic book tv & film. Recommend new additions to the library collection.

Tuesday, 9th

Peckham Library Graphic Novel Book Group, Peckham Hill Street SE15 5JR, 6pm to 7.30pm

Wednesday, 10th

Reads October: Berlin Book One: City of Stones, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
Join London’s most excellent comics reading group for a discussion of the first collected volume of Jason Lutes’ masterwork, Berlin Book One: City of Stones.

Ben Dix and Asia Alfasi – Communicating through Comics, Asia House,  New Cavendish Street, 6.45pm-9pm Free-£10

Benjamin Dix was first introduced to comics through reading two acclaimed graphic novels (Maus by Art Spiegelman and Palestine by Joe Sacco) whilst sheltering in a Sri Lankan bunker during the civil war. Dix worked for the UN as a Communications Liaison Manager, being the point of contact between the Tamil Tiger rebels and the UN until the UN evacuation in 2008. His experiences led him to use the comic-strip format to highlight human rights and social issues through his organisation PositiveNegatives. The issues that have been covered range from migration and conflict to slavery and the international drugs trade. Dix will be joined by his frequent collaborator, Asia Alfasi, who is one of PositiveNegative’s contributing artists. The two will explain the process of translating real-life experiences to comic-strip form, with an emphasis on the stories from Asian countries that they have covered.

Thursday, 11th

Ian Edginton and Llexi Leon signing Iron Maiden: Legacy Of The Beast at Forbidden Planet, 6-7pm

Liminal 11 Launch Party, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
We’re celebrating the launch of Liminal 11, the new mind, body and spirit publishing company founded by Mike Medaglia & Darren Shill, on Thursday October 11th, 7-9pm! Sarina Mantle and Mike Medaglia will on hand to sign their respective new titles, Women + Patterns + Plants and The Luna Sol Tarot, and they will also have copies of Mini Meditations on Creativity by Tillie Walden and Mini Meditations on Joy by Adam and Lisa Murphy for sale on the evening!

Make Your Own Mini-Comics 2, London College of Communication, Elephant & Castle, Free, 4-5.15pm, 5.15-6.30pm

In this workshop led by Ian Horton, Reader in Graphic Design at LCC, and Juliet Sugg, Associate Lecturer at LCC, we will first look at the exhibition of Mini-comics titled ‘Into/Out of the Box’ on display in Everything Happens So Much. We will discuss the themes and issues raised by the exhibition, part of London Design Festival. We will then be making our own Mini-Comics that will then be included as part of the display. No specialist drawing skills are required for this workshop and all materials (pens and paper) will be provided to make your own Mini-Comic.

Friday 12th

Avery Hill Launch Party for Terrible Means and Escape from Bitch Mountain, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
We’ll have B.Mure and a whole host of the talented artists of Comic Book Slumber Party here on Friday, October 12th, 7-9pm, to celebrate the release of their new titles Terrible Means and Escape from Bitch Mountain, published by Avery Hill!

Saturday 13th

WIP (Work In Progress Comics), Royal Festival Hall, South Bank, 11.30am

Wednesday 17th

Dan Watters signing Lucifer #1 at Forbidden Planet 6 – 7pm!

Thursday 18th

Retrofit Summer Launch Party, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
Liam Cobb and Becca Tobin will be here to celebrate the release of their new Retrofit / Big Planet books The Prince and Understanding

Barbican Comics Forum, Barbican. 5.30pm-7pm. A fun and informal book group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels.

Friday, 19th

AMC Riverdale tribute Life Drawing at Orbital Comics by Art Model Collective, 7pm-late.


Square Eyes Launch Party, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm

Anna Mill and Luke Jones will be with us to launch their first graphic novel: Square Eyes, a mind-bending and beautifully realised vision of the future, published by Jonathan Cape.

Nick Percival signing Dark Justice: Dominion graphic novel, Forbidden Planet, 6 – 7pm

Saturday, 20th

Alan Martin signing The Legend of Tank Girl, Forbidden Planet, 1-2pm.
The collection of Alan Martin and Brett Parson’s latest all-new Tank Girl series.

Gerry Duggan, John McCrea, David O’Sullivan signing Dead Rabbit #1  (Back to Work variant), Analog #1 (Stephen Mooney variant) and Analog Vol 1, Forbidden Planet, 3-4pm.

Drawing workshop with Sally Kindberg. Swedenborg House, Bloomsbury, 2-4pm

Children will learn comic books skills from Sally Kindberg, one of the UK’s leading comic book authors; Children will learn to draw with duck quill pens; Children will be encouraged to explore the mysterious museum at Swedenborg House, a Grade II listed eighteenth-century building in Bloomsbury; Children will receive free refreshments and art materials.

Tuesday, 23rd

Zenescope Entertainment Tour Stop at Mega City Comics, Camden, 4-6pm

Ladeez Do Comics Evening Of Comedy, New Unity Hall, Islington, 7.30-9.45pm.

LDC are pleased to bring you an evening PACKED with entertainment combining comics and comedy

Thursday 29th

The Mental Load with Emma, Corinne Pearlman and Laura Snoad, Waterstones, Gower Street. 6.30pm

Join Emma, the creator of incisive, funny and fiercely feminist new comic The Mental Load on a rare trip to the UK as she discusses gender roles, income inequality and myriad feminist issues with Creative Director at Myriad Editions Corinne Pearlman, and design journalist Laura Snoad, chaired by illustrator and gal-dem’s arts & culture editor, Mariel NO.

Friday 26th

MCM London Comic Con, Excel Centre. Britain’s biggest comic con, just in time for Halloween. International guests include Frank Miller, Brian Azzarello, John Romita Jr, Billy Tucci, Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Tim Sale, Klaus Janson, Frank Cho and Jorge Molina.

Saturday 27th

MCM London Comic Con, Excel Centre.

Scream and Misty One-Shot signing, Gosh Comics 1-2pm
Dun dun dun! It’s back! Scream and Misty One-Shot returns for a second outing of old school ghouls and we’ve got another scream-a-riffic signing to go with it! Scary Simon Coleby, Grisly Guy Adams, Lycanthropic Lizzie Boyle, Jeepers John Stokes and Kreepers Kek-W will all be here from 1-2 pm on Saturday Otober 27th to put their spooky scribbles on your copies of the magazine! (They’re all lovely really).

Sunday 28th

MCM London Comic Con, Excel Centre.

Monday 29th

Dalston Comic (creators) Club, Dalston CLR James Library, Dalston Lane, 6:30 – 7:30pm

The mission of the Dalston Comic (creators) Club, is to provide an environment that fosters creativity and an open community, where every session can be someone first, where participant learn from each other, in order to develop their storytelling and sequential narrative chops.

Wednesday 31st

Comica Social Club, The Central Bar, Royal Festival Hall, South Bank

The Comica Social Club is a monthly meetup for people interested in comics, manga and graphic novels. It is informal. You can chat, greet, gossip or network. Talk about your stuff, your big plan, your collection list (but we may run away) or what awaits in the reading nook?

(Last Updated October 1, 2018 8:02 am )

Related Posts

None found