Thankfully, Nothing Sucks About Netflix’s ‘Everything Sucks!’ Trailer

Credit: Netflix

Think Stranger Things, then replace the Upside-Down with flannel and demogorgons with the Goo Goo Dolls. Taking another nostalgic — yet safer this time — trip down pop culture memory lane, Netflix has released the official trailer and synopsis for their new ’90s-set dramedy series Everything Sucks! 

The 10-episode, half-hour series comes from the creative minds of Ben York Jones (Like Crazy) and Michael Mohan (Save the Date) and follows a group of small-town mid-’90s teens as they navigate the perils of dating and trying to be cool. Midnight Radio will serve as the production company.

Credit: Netflix

Set to release on Friday, February 16th, Everything Sucks! stars Peyton Kennedy as Kate; Jahi Winston as Luke; Rio Mangini as McQuaid; Quinn Liebling as Tyler; Sydney Sweeney as Emaline; Elijah Stevenson as Oliver; Patch Darragh as Ken; and Claudine Nako as Sherry. York Jones and Mohan are also set to executive produce through Midnight Radio.

Credit: Netflix

You can view Netflix’s official trailer and synopsis for Everything Sucks! below — and just in case you forgot the show’s set in the ’90s, the trailer will get you up to speed a little too/pretty quickly:

The 90s high school experience: Desperate, heartfelt, awkward, exciting, and free of smartphones. Set in the real life town of Boring, Oregon in 1996, Everything Sucks! is a quirky, funny coming of age story that revolves around Boring High School’s A/V Club and Drama Club— two crews of nerdy-edgy outsiders, who join forces to make a movie and endure the purgatory known as high school. The series stars Peyton Kennedy (American Fable, The Captive) and Jahi Winston (The New Edition Story) as students Kate Messner and Luke O’Neil, with Patch Darragh (Sully, Boardwalk Empire) and Claudine Nako (Grimm) as their respective parents. The 10-episode, half-hour dramedy is created by Ben York Jones (Like Crazy, Newness) and Michael Mohan (Save the Date, Pink Grapefruit), who will both serve as executive producers.

everything sucks netflix series trailer

Netflix premieres the 10-episode first season of Everything Sucks! on Friday, February 16th.

Deadline Hollywood

About Ray Flook

Proudly serving as TV Editor, Ray started with Bleeding Cool in 2013 as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought aboard as staff in 2017. Counting John Cusack as his pop culture "spirit animal," his "word fu" stays strong as he continues trying really hard to be the sheppard...