Great Britain’s Entertainment Writers Guild Announces 2017 Award Nominees

Posted by December 7, 2016 Comment


The Writers Guild of Great Britain announced their slate of 2017 nominees yesterday. The WGGB is Britain’s union representing  professional writers across all entertainment genres from TV and film to games and books.

This year’s WGGB award show will be hosted by actress and comedian Meera Syal (Doctor Strange, Broadchurch) on January 23rd at the Royal College of Physicians in central London.

The full list of 2017 nominees are:

Best Long Form TV Drama
Victoria, Series 1, Episode 4, “The Clockwork Prince” (Daisy Goodwin), Trapped (Clive Bradley), Spotless, Pilot Episode (Ed McCardie)

Best Short Form TV Drama
Murder, “The Big Bang” (Robert Jones), And Then There Were None, Season 1, Episode 3 (Sarah Phelps), Ellen (Sarah Quintrell)

Best Long Running TV Series
Doctors, Season 18, Episode 29 “There Is No Place” (Claire Bennett), Coronation Street, Episode 8946 (Chris Fewtrell), Emmerdale, Season 1, Episode 7628 “Holly’s Death” (Karin Young)

Best TV Situation Comedy
Plebs, Series 3, Episode 1, “The Beasts” (Tom Basden, Sam Leifer), People Just Do Nothing, Series 3 (Asim Chaudhry, Allan Mustafa, Steve Stamp), Fleabag, Episode 1 (Phoebe Waller-Bridge)

Best Children’s TV Episode
Danger Mouse, Season 1, Episode 3 “Greenfinger” (James Griffiths, Mark Oswin), Hetty Feather, Series 2, Episode 10 “The Reunion” (Helen Blakeman), The Dumping Ground, Season 3, Episode 20 “Refuge” (Emma Reeves)

Best Radio Drama
Fat Little Thing (Lucy Gannon), Cuttin’ It (Charlene James), lament (Debbie Tucker Green)

Best Radio Comedy
Guilt Trip (Katherine Jakeways, Felicity Montagu, Olivia Nixon), The Pin (Ben Ashenden, Alex Owen), John Finnemore’s Double Acts, Series 1, Episode 5, “English For Pony-Lovers” (John Finnemore)

Best Writing in a Video Game
FIFA 17 “The Journey” (Martin Korda, Matthew Turner, Tom Watt), Virginia (Jonathan Burroughs, Lyndon Holland, Terry Kenny), Fragments of Him (Mata Haggis)

Best Screenplay
The Survivalist (Stephen Fingleton), Suffragette (Abi Morgan), Eye in the Sky (Guy Hibbert)

Best First Screenplay
Adult Life Skills (Rachel Tunnard), Radiator (Tom Browne, Daniel Cerqueira), Florence Foster Jenkins (Nicholas Martin)

Best Play
Escaped Alone (Caryl Churchill), Cyprus Avenue (David Ireland), All The Little Lights (Jane Upton)

Best Play for Young Audiences
What the Thunder Said (Ed Harris), This Changes Everything (Joel Horwood), Rise Up (Lisa Evans)

(Last Updated December 7, 2016 12:59 am )

Related Posts

None found

About Bill Watters

Games programmer by day, geek culture and fandom writer by night. You'll find me writing most often about tv and movies with a healthy side dose of the goings-on around the convention and fandom scene.

View All Posts