jeff smith


bone

Netflix Has “Bone” to Pick With Jeff Smith: Streamer Developing Animated Series

Jeff Smith‘s award-winning comic book series Bone will be making the journey from the printed page to television screens, with Netflix developing an animated adaptation series. With Smith (SHAZAM! The Monster Society of Evil, RASL) set to oversee production, the streaming series follows the exploits of the Bone cousins as they cross a vast, uncharted, […]

Dieselfunk Dispatch

Seeking Self-Publishing Advice from Jeff Smith in This Week’s Dieselfunk Dispatch

When we spoke with Tim Fielder at Cartoon Crossroads Columbus last October, he told us privately about his plans to move his creator-owned comic, Matty’s Rocket, to a print on demand graphic novel model using his own equipment. We asked Tim if, as things progressed, he’d be willing to share his experience and his perspective with our readers […]

Dieselfunk Dispatch

Tim Fielder Shares a Journey of Self-Publishing in Dieselfunk Dispatch

When we spoke with Tim Fielder at Cartoon Crossroads Columbus last October, he told us privately about his plans to move his creator-owned comic, Matty’s Rocket, to a print on demand graphic novel model using his own equipment. We asked Tim if, as things progressed, he’d be willing to share his experience and his perspective […]

Jeff Smith Is Making A New ‘Bone’ Picture Book For 2018 Release

Eisner Award winning cartoonist and 647th most famous person in Ohio, Jeff Smith, is returning to his seminal Bone series for a new picture book in 2018. The book, first reported on Newsarama, will be called Smiley’s Dream Book, and is set to hit bookstores next Summer, ahead of an animated Bone movie trilogy announced […]

Jeff Smith To Join Rob Liefeld And Trina Robbins In Wizard World’s Hall Of Legends

Bone creator Jeff Smith is set to be the third inductee in Wizard World’s prestigious Hall of Legends, according to a press release. Following in the tradition of Sir Robert Liefeld and Trina Robbins, Smith will enter the Wizard World Hall of Legends when Wizard World rolls through Columbus in August. The award-winning cartoonist whose […]

This Day in Pop Culture History

On This Day In Pop Culture For February 27

Welcome to This Day in Pop Culture History, a daily look at important events, birthdays, and other oddities in pop culture! History is important, and we aim to educate here at Bleeding Cool, so without further ado, here are some things that have happened on February 27: 1939- Borley Rectory, known as the most haunted house […]



A Brand New Bone Comic By Jeff Smith For July 2016

It has been twenty-five years since I ordered Bone #1 from the still-rather-large Diamond Previews from my local comic shop, Forbidden Planet, in Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. I never got it. Apparently three people had to order a comic back then for them to bother ordering it. It’s a little easier to purchase now, reprinted repeatedly by Cartoon […]

Bone’s Jeff Smith Introduces A Vampire To Hollywood

Cartoonist Batton Lash has been self-publishing his Supernatural Law comic books and trade paperbacks for over two decades. The humor/horror series, about Alanna Wolff and Jeff Byrd, two lawyers who defend monsters and the supernaturally afflicted, has won numerous awards and made Batton a popular guest at comic conventions. Now Batton is conducting a Kickstarter […]

Celebrate The Spirit’s 75th With Jeff Smith At Wizard World Ohio This Weekend

If you’re in New York this weekend, hopefully you’ll be going to the Brooklyn Book Festival, tragically scheduled at the same time as Small Press Expo, where you’ll find many comics folks this weekend in Bethesda, Maryland. But if you’re in Ohio, you won’t be missing out on learning some cool things about comics and […]

The Most Unrealistic Thing About Ted 2

So Ted 2 is out Seth McFarlane‘s sequel to Ted, the highest grossing R-Rated comedy of all time. Telling the story of a sentient teddy bear, all grown up alongside the biy who loved him, foul mouthed, drug/alcohol addled wih a penchant for violence. Hijinks ensue, obviously, and the new film sees tot-based civil rights […]


Every Comic Is Awesome, With Jeff Smith, Raina Telgemeier And More, At BookCon

By Jemal Flores Comics and Graphic Novels = Awesome! You know it, I know it. Now the world knows it. Last weekend BookCon, held in New York city, Heidi MacDonald moderated the Comics Are Awesome panel with Ben Hatke (Zita the SpaceGirl), Jennifer Holm (Sunny Side Up), Raina Telgemeier (The Baby-Sitters Club) and Jeff Smith […]

A Mystery New Project From Jeff Smith As Tuki Is Delayed

The next issue of Jeff Smith’s ongoing comic book, Tuki Save The Humans #4 will be cancelled, and re-solicited in the October Previews for December shipping. Originally planned for a May release for the tale of the first human to leave Africa, Smith needs more time to rest a resurfacing arm injury. “I noticed my arm was […]


From Strip To Script – Bone #1

By Josh Hechinger So, here’s a writing exercise: take a finished page of comics by someone else, and try to reverse engineer the script for it, either in your style, or in a different script style (full-script, plot-first, etc.) Last time, I did a page from the first comic I ever read, Uncanny X-Men # […]

At Last, Here Comes Grant Morrison’s Miracleman, With Joe Quesada..

Grant Morrison has talked a  few times about the Kid Marvelman story he was asked to write for Warrior Magazine back in the day, after they’d fallen on bad terms with Alan Moore, only to get a note from Alan Moore asking him please not to. Well, there’s no one to stop him now. We’d […]

Bone Flies The Flag For CBLDF Guide To Comic Book Censorship

The CBLDF, or the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is putting out a CBLDF Banned Books leaflet, available in stores or at shows from July (in time for San Diego Comic Con) and also ahead of Banned Books Week in September. And it comes with a Bone cover by Jeff Smith as, surprisingly, Bone is one […]

Jeff Smith’s Tuki Save The Humans Gets An Upgrade Before Publication

That was how Tuki: Save The Humans, the new comic from Jeff Smith was solicited. Black and white. Like how Bone and Rasl started out. But, a bit like a Kickstarter goal, it has been upgraded to full colour… Out in July, here’s a quick refresher… 2,000,000 years ago, a great ice age gripped the earth, […]