Could Occupy Comics Face The Wrath Of Warner Bros Lawyers?

STK622588

This is the cover to the Occupy Comics trade paperback, featuring the V For Vendetta version of the Guy Fawkes mask which has been appropriated by Anonymous, Occupy and the Arab Spring movements.

It hadn’t appeared on the covers of the issues, though used inside. Because while one could be considered comment and fair use, putting the image on the cover and using it in promotional efforts might be considered a breach of a trademark.

But that’s what’s happening with this David Mack cover to the Occupy Comics trade paperback. It’s not a direct lift, it’s a painting, with artistic flourishes that could see it regarded as a transformed work. Possibly.

Warner Bros hasn’t made legal moves against other uses of the mask, created by David Lloyd for the V For Vendetta strip for Warrior Magazine, later reprinted, collected and seemingly effectively owned by DC Comics and turned into a movie by Warners. Indeed, they have turned a pretty penny from selling masks to be worn by protestors against the excesses of the capitalist system. They may also not want to be the subject of embarrassment that legal action may take. But if a company doesn’t defend its trademarks, it is in danger of losing them…

Here’s the solicitation from Black Mask for November, for Occupy Comics TPB and The Liberator TPB.

OCCUPY COMICS TP

(W) Alan Moore & Various (A) Ronald Wimberly & Various (CA) David Mack

This once-in-a-lifetime collaboration of more than 50 comics pros is a celebration of Occupy & a time-capsule of the movement’s themes. The organizers and creators are donating all their revenue after costs to Occupy-related efforts and initiatives. Creators include Alan Moore, Art Spiegelman, Joshua Hale Fialkov, Josh Dysart, Bill Ayers, Simon Spurrier, David Lloyd, Mike Allred, Charlie Adlard, Ben Templesmith, and many more!

In Shops: 11/27/2013

SRP: $15.99

LIBERATOR TP (MR)

(W) Matt Miner (A) Javier Sanchez Aranda & Various (CA) Tim Seeley

A hard-edged vigilante series about two young heroes who avenge the torture of animals. “Unlike any comic book project to date, Miner delivers a message about animal abuse blended with a gritty protagonist in the vein of Batman or The Punisher.” – ComicBooked

In Shops: 11/27/2013

SRP: $14.99

STK622587

21 Of The 1200 Stolen Art Pieces Of Josh C Lyman

frank-frazetta-fire-and-ice

Robert Rodriguez’s Fire And Ice Remake Heads To Sony

Henni-cover-06 (1)

The Unintentional Rebel – Miss Lasko-Gross Discusses New Graphic Novel Henni, Plus Process Art

10 Episodes In 5 Minutes – Catching Up On Gotham

A Few Of Our Favourite Comic Creator Christmas Cards

Halo 5 Multiplayer Beta Gets A Trailer And Some Players Are Getting Invited Today

The Comics Economics Of Star Wars #1

team-america-jpg

Will Netflix Release Team America: World Police Figures?

fbi-seal

FBI Confirms North Korean Government Is Behind The Sony Hack

How To Get This Month’s Batman Loot Crate For $9.40…