Black Crown Launches Hey Amateur on Kickstarter with Simon Bisley, Jill Thompson, Erica Henderson, Peter Bagge and More

The Black Crown Quarterly titles from Black Crown at IDW featured a ‘Hey Amateur’ final page, teaching a specific skill – comic book or otherwise – in nine panels.

A favourite feature of the anthologies, Black Crown has decided to expand it into a full anthology of its own. And using similar crowdfunding techniques that worked for Femme Magnifique, Kickstarting an exclusive hardcover and later printing the softcover with french flaps, with extra bonus material and maybe an Eisner nomination to book, all through Black Crown and IDW.

The list of subjects ranges from the practical to the peculiar, from secret hobbies to tricks of the trade. Creators include Glyn Dillon, Jill Thompson, Dilraj Mann, Chynna Clugston Flores, John Allison, Erica Henderson, Peter Bagge and Simon Bisley. And a cover by Michael Allred and Laura Allred.

Topics include how to: How to do a skateboard Ollie, Be a badass Goth, Rock Barre Chords, Spot a Galaxy, Train your Doppelgänger, Use and ask for pronouns, Catch a loose dog (from someone who runs a dog rescue), Draw likenesses, Letter a comic book page, Kiss, Talk to a celebrity, Fake a guitar solo, Write your own TTRPG

Their goal will be $50,000, reward tiers include worldwide shipping. They are starting with 50 stories totalling 128-pages but they hope to hit 100 stories/224 pages depending on funding. And the campaign, running for thirty days, will launch today at 9am PST, noon EST, and 5pm BST.

 

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   globe