Watch 10 Minutes of The Year Of The Rabbit, Starring Matt Berry, Susan Wokoma and Freddie Fox

Tomorrow sees the launch of new comedy-drama The Year Of The Rabbit on Channel 4 at 10pm. A very silly-but-scary Victorian London period police procedural from Ben Taylor, the director of Sex Education, Cuckoo and Catastrophe, and Kevin Cecil and Andy Riley, writers from Veep, Tracy Ullman and Harry Enfield.

It’s Peaky Blinders meets Toast Of London with Matt Berry, Susan Wokoma and Freddie Fox in the leads.

Old hand hard-as-nails and alcoholic Inspector Rabbit, played by Berry, fresh-out-of-university, optimistic and prissy Strauss played by Fox, and daughter of the police chief, intent on being the world’s first woman policeman, Wokoma as Mabel Wisbech.

But you don’t have to wait till tomorrow for a first glimpse. Or, if you are in the US, later in the year when it comes out on IFC. Because we have the first ten minutes, right here, right now.

And the trailer…

We should have a massive feature interview on Bleeding Cool with Susan Wokoma tomorrow. Do come by and check it out…

Set in the dark heart of Victorian London, Year of the Rabbit follows Detective Inspector Rabbit (BAFTA winner Matt Berry), a hardened booze-hound who’s seen it all, and his hapless new partner Strauss (Freddie Fox). While investigating a murder, the ambitious daughter (Susan Wokoma) of the chief of police joins them, becoming London’s first female officer. Together, the trio must fight crime while rubbing shoulders with street gangs, crooked politicians and Bulgarian princes.

Alongside the crime-fighting trio, Keeley Hawes (Bodyguard, Misbehaviour) stars as the mysterious Lydia, Sally Phillips (Veep, Bridget Jones) is Princess Violetta of Bulgaria, and Jill Halfpenny (Three Girls, In the Club) features as Rabbit’s ex, the deadly Flora. Also starring in the series are Paul Kaye (After Life, Game of Thrones) David Dawson (Last Kingdom, Ripper Street), Ann Mitchell (Call The Midwife, Widows), Alistair Petrie (The Night Manager, Sex Education), Matthew Holness (Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace, Toast of London) and Craig Parkinson (Black Mirror: BandersnatchLine of Duty).

Directed by BAFTA-nominated Ben Taylor (Catastrophe) and written by Emmy and WGA Award-winners Andy Riley and Kevin Cecil (Veep), with additional material from Matt Berry.

Year of the Rabbit starts on 10th June 2019 at 22:00 on Channel 4


About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   globe