Things to Do in London If You Like Comics – May 2019

Things to do in London in May 2019… if you like comics, of course. Exhibitions followed by events… let us know if we missed any. May brings both Free Comic Book Day at the beginning of the month and MCM Londo Comic Con towards the end… what a great time to like comics, comic culture and be in London.

Exhibitions:Things to Do in London If You Like Comics - May 2019

More Instant Mash -Carl Stimpson Exhibition Clear line painter Carl Stimpson returns to Orbital’s Eisner-winning gallery for an incredible new exhibition – More Instant Mash. With a range of original paintings and screenprints on display, Stimpson captures a mix of pop art pulp, Hergé’s clear line sensibility, and comic book nostalgia. Extended to May 19th, Orbital Comics.

YiMiao Shih: Rabbrexit Means Rabbrexit, House Of Illustraton, Kings Cross, until July. Shih has created a series of ‘relics’ from the UK’s imaginary rabbit population, including large-scale embroidered epics, newly minted 52p and 48p coins and aeroplane landing cards for rabbits stripped of their British citizenship. These satirical pieces draw together Shih’s real-world observations of the nationalistic fervor, economic uncertainty and fragmentation of societal bonds brought about by Brexit. Until July.

Posy Simmonds: A Retrospective. The first major UK retrospective of the celebrated comic artist and graphic novelist.
Posy Simmonds’ sharp satire and progressive female characters have defined a career spanning 50 years. The exhibition will feature her early-career pastiches, iconic cartoon strips for The Guardian and children’s books such as Fred, which became an Oscar-nominated film. It will also include the first ever British graphic novel, True Love, unseen pages from Tamara Drewe and drawings from Simmonds’ new 2018 book, Cassandra Darke. House Of Illustration, 24th of May to September.

Events

Thursday, May 2nd

Troopers. Guest invites only.

Friday, May 3rd

Get the train to Brighton for www.graphicbrighton.com, University of Brighton City Campus with Ian Williams, Chris Geary, Ottilie Hainsworth, Richy K Chandler, Warren Pleece, Alison Sampson, Owen Pomery, Muna Al-Jawad, Ben Dickson, Daniel Locke and comics laureate Hannah Berry. George Hardie and architects Jacquelyn Cohen and Joe Robson. 10am-5pm. Free.

Saturday May 4th

Things to Do in London If You Like Comics - May 2019

https://mlpnk72yciwc.i.optimole.com/w:auto/h:auto/q:auto/https://www.bleedingcool.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/3896d7d6-e1f2-4973-8e82-70bde6b5e0b7.jpg#main

FREE Comic Book Creation Workshop for Parents and Kids – Fifth Edition, Fulham Library, 3-4.30pm

Adult Masterclass: Graphic Novel Your Life (A One Day Introduction). A one day workshop to help you develop ideas for a graphic novel based on your personal experiences. House Of Illustration, King’s Cross. 10am-4pm

Get the train to Brighton for Graphic Brighton 2019: Making Comics Work, at the University of Brighton City Campus with Ian Williams, Chris Geary, Ottilie Hainsworth, Richy K Chandler, Warren Pleece, Alison Sampson, Owen Pomery, Muna Al-Jawad, Ben Dickson, Daniel Locke and comics laureate Hannah Berry. George Hardie and architects Jacquelyn Cohen and Joe Robson. 10am-5pm. Free.

Or get the train to Portsmouth for the Portsmouth Comic Con, with Roy Thomas, Steve Englehart, Sean Phillips, Tommy Lee Edwards, Liam Sharp, Kieron Gillen, Scott Dunbier, Joe Illidge and more.

Sunday May 5th

Get the train to Portsmouth for the Portsmouth Comic Con, with Roy Thomas, Steve Englehart, Sean Phillips, Tommy Lee Edwards, Liam Sharp, Kieron Gillen, Scott Dunbier, Joe Illidge and more.

Monday May 6th

Things to Do in London If You Like Comics - May 2019

Comic Art Masterclass with Kev F Sutherland, Royal Academy of Arts 10am-12.30pm, 1.30-4.30pm, Royal Academy of Arts. Burlington House, Piccadilly,

Tuesday, May 7th

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gdns, 6.30pm

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, Shoe Lane Library, Little New Street. 5.30-7pm

Thursday, May 9th

Things to Do in London If You Like Comics - May 2019

Sunday’s Child Launch Party with Serena Katt, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm.

Friday, May 10th

Chris Thompson and Will Mullane’s Leaving Party from Titan Comics, Mad Hatter Hotel, 5.45pm

Saturday, May 11th

Terry Jervis and Chris Geary signing Spirit of the Pharaoh graphic novel, Forbidden Planet 1-pm

WIP (Work In Progress Comics), Royal Festival Hall, South Bank, 11.30am-3.30pm

Afro Reads Book Club – Augustown by Kei Miller, Palmers Green Library

Sunday, May 12th

London Comic Mart – Noon-4pm Royal National Hotel

CHCC YA Fest, Chadwell Heath Community Centre 11am-6pm. Including Alice Oseman – Author of Solitaire, Radio Silence, I Was Born For This and graphic novel Heartstopper, revealing what’s involved in creating a graphic novel in workshop ‘Art with Alice’.

Monday, May 13th

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, Marylebone, 6:30 – 8pm

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, 6:30 – 7.30pm

Wednesday May 16th

Barbican Comics Forum, Barbican. 5.30pm-7pm. A fun and informal book group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels.

Saturday, May 18th

Things to Do in London If You Like Comics - May 2019

The Best of London Horror Comic Volume 1 Launch & Signing, Orbital Comics.

To celebrate its release, writer J.P. Kamath will be signing copies of his new book, The Best of London Horror Comic Volume 1, at Orbital. This horror/comedy is a 60-page collection of stories from the book’s 12-year history, from issues that were previously out of print. Limited prints of the new cover by Doctor Who cover artist Simon Myers will also be available for the first few customers. “A combination of the sensibilities of a ’70s Warren anthology with the production values of the Marvel Max imprint. Sickeningly slick and horrifyingly funny.” – Stewart Lee.

 Ian Edginton and Llexi Leon signing Iron Maiden: Legacy of the Beast Vol 2 Night City #1 (FP glow in the dark retailer variant cover) Forbidden Planet 1-2pm

Comic Book and Graphic Novel Scriptwriting: An Introduction by Tony Lee, Raindance Film Training Centre, 10am-5pm £150 tickets

Friday May 24th

MCM London Comic Con, London ExCeL Centre. London’s biggest comic book convention.

Official Fox@ExCeL ComicCon After Party

Saturday May 25th

Dave Gibbons and John Higgins signing DC Modern Classics: Watchmen, Forbidden Planet 4-5p

MCM London Comic Con, London ExCeL Centre. London’s biggest comic book convention.

Official Fox@ExCeL ComicCon After Party

Sunday May 26th

MCM London Comic Con, London ExCeL Centre. London’s biggest comic book convention.

Official Fox@ExCeL ComicCon After Party

BSL Family Workshop: Cartoon Strips with Christopher Sacre. Delivered in both British Sign Language and spoken English; both hearing and Deaf families welcome. House Of Illustration, Kings Cross. 11am-1pm

Monday. May 27th

Dalston Comic (creators) Club, Dalston CLR James Library, Dalston Lane, 6:30 – 7:30pm

Tuesday, May 28th

London Comic Book Club, The Sheaf, Southwark, 7-9pm

Wednesday, May 29th

Eoin Marron and Ollie Masters signing Killer Groove #1, Forbidden Plamet, 6-7pm

Comica Social Club, Central Bar, Royal Festival Hall, 6pm

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   globe