Things to Do in London if You Like Comics: September 2018

Things to Do in London if You Like Comics: September 2018

Posted by September 1, 2018 Comment

Things to do in London in September… if you like comics, of course.

Exhibitions

A Study in Emerald at Orbital Comics. Adapted from a Neil Gaiman story, with art by the Eisner-winning Rafael Albuquerque, a gothic horror that echoes both Sherlock Holmes and the Cthulhu mythos of H.P. Lovecraft. A collection of original pages from this graphic novel will be on display in the Orbital Gallery. September 1st – 20th.

Playful Inversions Exhibition by Frazer Irving, Chelsea Library, 3rd to 17th September 2018

50 Glorious Shows, The Cartoon Museum. September 1st – 2nd.

I Object, British Museum.  A wide variety of objects (including comics and cartoons) will be on display in the exhibition – from graffiti on a Babylonian brick to a banknote with hidden rude words, from satirical Turkish shadow puppets to a recently acquired ‘pussy’ hat worn on a women’s march. See what tales these objects tell – sometimes deadly serious, often humorous, always with conviction. Unlock the messages and symbols these people used, and get closer to understanding them. September 6th to December 31st

DC Exhibition: Dawn of Super-Heroes at The O2, until September 9th.

Extracting a laugh! An exhibition of original cartoons on the subject of Dentists, Dentistry, and their patients by leading gag cartoonists such as Mel Calman, Matt, Nick Newman, Simon Bond, Mike Williams, Larry, and Martin Honeysett. Putney Political Cartoon Gallery. September 13th -30th October

The Art of Sunbeam: A Tillie Walden Exhibition. Orbital Comics. Coinciding with the release of this major new graphic novel from Avery Hill Publishing, a collection of original pages from On a Sunbeam and a selection of other classic Tillie Walden works on display. September 21st – 4th October

Astérix in Britain: The Life and Work of René Goscinny, Jewish Museum, through to end of September.

Jew(ish) Cartoons: Drawing from the Collection, Jewish Museum, until 17th September.

Quentin Blake: Voyages to the Moon and the Sun, House Of Illustration, until 30th September

Events

Saturday, September 1st

Patrick Goddard and Keith Richardson signing Sniper Elite #1, Forbidden Planet Megastore, 1 – 2pm

Make Your Own Comic Book, Brompton Library 210 Old Brompton Road, SW5 0BS 3pm-4pm, All Ages.

Sunday, September 2nd

Supertember Comics Mart, Royal National Hotel, Noon-6pm

Comic Book Artists in Residence – Tasreen Rahman, Jewish Museum, 1-4pm

Monday, September 3rd

In a rare visit to the UK, Donny Cates will be signing at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore at 6pm.

Ladeez Do Comics, The Koppel Project Hive, 26 Holborn Viaduct, EC1A 2AT with the following guests

Dr Ian Hague, Dr Ian Horton, and Dr Nina Mickwitz: London College of Communications, University of the Arts, London presenting Violence in comics. Tim Atkins: Poet and comic artist.

Tuesday, September 4th

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, Shoe Lane Library, Hill House, 1 Little New Street, EC4A 3JR. Get recommendations, make new friends and pick up some of the latest graphic novels. This month’s session will be hosted by the wonderful Joel from Barbican Comic Forum.

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gardens, N7 6JX. Discussion and recommendations of comics and graphic novels, free to borrow from the library’s extensive collection.

Comic Book Artists in Residence – Lucie Arnoux, Jewish Museum, 1-4pm

Wednesday, September 5th

Si Spurrier signing Sandman Universe #1 and Dreaming #1, Forbidden Planet London Megastore at 6pm.

Thursday, September 6th

Peapod Press Zine Launch Party, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm
Rosie Brand, creator of Wizard & Soft Pig, will be here with a host of contributors to Hear Ye See Ye, her new anthology produced in association with Friends in the Dungeon and Peapod.

Preview screening of Netflix’s Hilda with Flying Eye Books, Waterstones, Tottenham Court Road , 18:30. Join Flying Eye Books for an exclusive preview screening of the Netflix animated show Hilda, as well as the launch of the first book in their series, Stephen DaviesHilda and the Hidden People.

Saturday, September 8th 

Signing by Sarah Graley, Orbital Comics, 2-4pm.

The art of the graphic novel: Stephen Collins and Isabel Greenberg. Royal Academy of Arts, Burlington House, Piccadilly, W1J, 1.30pm – 2.30pm. Chaired by the Observer journalist and critic, Rachel Cooke, two prize-winning authors and illustrators discuss the art of the graphic novel.

Comic Book Artists in Residence – Lucie Arnoux, Jewish Museum, 1-4pm

W.I.P. Comics, 5th Floor Foyer/Bar of the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre. Free workshops run by talented members of the wide London based comic book community .The aim of the workshops is to help artists and writers with improving their skills in order to achieve their set target.

Sunday, September 9th

Comics Workshop with Clio Isadora, Palm Vaults, E8 1HY.  Join London-based illustrator and CSM Graphic Communication Design graduate Clio Isadora for a comic making workshop at London’s most Instagram-able café, Palm Vaults. You’ll get to create your own comic and learn about life as an illustrator in London. Plus get some insider tips on the best independent comic stores, and best places to print your own. Tickets include a drink and vegan cookie. 

Monday, September 10th 

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, 67 Church St, Marylebone, London NW8 8EU

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, 210 Old Brompton Rd, London SW5 0BS

Tuesday, September 11th 

Peckham Library Graphic Novel Book Group, Peckham Hill Street SE15 5JR, 6pm to 7.30pm

Wednesday, September 12th 

Private View – Playful Inversions Exhibition by Frazer Irving, Chelsea Library.

George Mann, Dan Boultwood and Chris Wildgoose signing the first issue of Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying, Forbidden Planet London Megastore, 6pm

Reads September: Sabrina, Gosh Comics, 7pm
The Reads reading group will be covering Nick Drnaso‘s Sabrina, the first comic to make it onto the Man Booker Prize Long List.

Curator’s Talk: Who Has the Last Laugh? Discover some of the cartoons and caricatures usually kept in storage. Curator will look at the stories behind the images, some of which go back to the 18th century. Jewish Museum, 3pm

Thursday, September 13th

I Feel Machine Launch Party with Julian Hanshaw and Krent Able. Gosh Comics, 7pm
Krent Able and Julian Hanshaw will be with us 7-9pm on Thursday the 13th of September to launch the new SelfMadeHero Sci-fi anthology: I Feel Machine!

Comic Book Artists in Residence – Lucie Arnoux, Jewish Museum, 1-4pm

Friday, September 14th 

Comic Book Colouring – an Art Class with Marissa Louise. 7pm. £15.

Colourist Marissa Louise (whose credits include Galaktikon, Hex Wives and Spell On Wheels) will be sharing her tips and tricks, and teaching you how to colour comic art like a pro!

Saturday, September 15th 

Metal musicians The Sons of Baluar Forbidden Planet London Megastore 11am onwards in support of…

Alec Worley and Pye Parr signing The Realm Of The Damned, Forbidden Planet London Megastore 1-2pm

Sunday, September 16th 

Comic Book Artists in Residence – Lucie Arnoux, Jewish Museum, 1-4pm

Wednesday, September 19th 

Rafael Albuquerque and Rafael Scavone at Orbital Comics for a rare UK signing and after-hours talk, delving deeper into their creative process.

Thursday, September 20th

Barbian Comics Forum, Barbican. 5.30pm-7pm. A fun and informal book group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels.

Comics Handling Session 1, London College of Communication, Elephant & Castle, SE1 6SB, 2-2.45pm and 2.45-3.30pm

Come and learn more about UAL’s comic book collections, As part of this session you’ll get the chance to see and handle a selection of comic books held at the University’s Archives and Special Collections Centre – ranging from underground and alternative comics to children’s comics from the 1950s. One of our archivists will also be on hand to introduce you to the collections and answer questions. Free and open to all. Must book. 10 places per session.

Saturday, September 22nd

Get the train to Leeds for Thought Bubble

Sunday, September 23rd

Get the train back again.

Monday, September 24th 

Thought Bubble Triple, Gosh Comics, 6pm. Leslie Hung, Greg Rucka, and Brian Stelfreeze signing.

Dalston Comic Creators Club, Dalston CLR James Library Dalston Square, E8 3BQ

Wednesday, September 26th

Curator’s Talk: Asterix in Britain, Jewish Museum. 2pm

Comica Social Club, The Central Bar, The Foyer, Royal Festival Hall, Belvedere Road, SE1 8XX

Friday, September 28th

Launch Party For Retrograde Orbit & Follow Me In, Gosh Comics, 7pm
Kristyna Baczynski and Katriona Chapman will be hereto celebrate the release of their new Avery Hill titles Retrograde Orbit and Follow Me In.

Saturday, September 29th

Tongues Vol. 2 Signing With Anders Nilsen, Gosh Comics, 1pm
Ignez award-winning writer and artist of Big Questions and Don’t Go Where I Can’t Follow Anders Nilsen with us to sign his most recent work Tongues, Issue 2.

Graphic Science: with Ian Williams & Dan Locke. Brixton Library, 12:30pm. hosted by Tari Eguruze.

(Last Updated September 3, 2018 1:41 pm )

Related Posts

None found

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

View All Posts