The Ranger Slayer, a New Zord, and Lots of Variants in Power Rangers: Shattered Grid This June

Posted by March 13, 2018 Comment

What would you think if we told you that the debut of the Ranger Slayer as part of BOOM! Studios’ ongoing Power Rangers super-mega-crossover event, Power Rangers: Shattered Grid, will bring with a new Zord? Hopefully something, as we missed the Power Rangers craze, and this all sounds like gibberish to us. We’re just going to take your word for it, because while the Power Rangers movie may have fizzled, the comic book universe is going strong at BOOM!, and we couldn’t happier for fans of Rangers, Slayers, Zords, whose-its, whats-its, and whatever else!

As Shattered Grid continues in June, a press release reveals what fans can expect:

As the battle rages across time and space, the Mighty Morphin team must form new teams to battle Lord Drakkon – a twisted, alternate-reality version of Tommy Oliver, the Green Mighty Morphin Power Ranger – while the Ranger Slayer, a mysterious new Power Ranger, debuts a new Zord!

In Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #28, from writer Kyle Higgins and artist Daniele di Nicuolo, The Mighty Morphin team splits into two strike forces—one with RPM and one with Time Force—to battle Drakkon across worlds…even as all hope seems lost! This issue features a main cover by Jamal Campbell (Green Arrow), with variant covers by Jordan Gibson (America) and Carlos Villa (Lockjaw).

Then, in Saban’s Go Go Power Rangers #10, from writer Ryan Parrott and artist Dan Mora, the Ranger Slayer, in service of Lord Drakkon, has arrived, threatening the future of the Power Rangers by destroying their pasts. But who is this mysterious new Power Ranger? This issue features a main cover by Dan Mora, with variant covers by Miguel Mercado (Over The Garden Wall), Audrey Mok (Archie) and Natacha Bustos (Moon Girl & Devil Dinosaur).

“Now that we’ve assembled so many iconic Power Rangers in one place, we’re putting them together in all-new teams to bring a whole new dimension to the fight against Lord Drakkon,” said Dafna Pleban, Editor, BOOM! Studios. “And with the Ranger Slayer debuting a new Zord in their conflict with the Mighty Morphin team, this is the biggest month of POWER RANGERS: SHATTERED GRID yet!”

Yeah it is! Check out some of the variants below:

(Last Updated March 13, 2018 2:16 pm )

About Jude Terror

A prophecy says that in the comic book industry's darkest days, a hero will come to lead the people through a plague of overpriced floppies, incentive variant covers, #1 issue reboots, and super-mega-crossover events.

Scourge of Rich Johnston, maker of puns, and seeker of the Snyder Cut, Jude Terror, sadly, is not the hero comics needs right now... but he's the one the industry deserves.

View All Posts