Rubbing It In Faces Of Book Readers, Maisie Williams And Kit Harington Can’t Wait For End Of Game Of Thrones

Posted by November 3, 2017 Comment

For readers of George R. R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire series of novels upon which the hit HBO show Game of Thrones is based, life is eternal torment, waiting endlessly for the penultimate book in the series which Martin will almost certainly never finish. But for the actors on Game of Thrones, the end is in sight, with the final season of the show set to air in 2018. Showing a complete lack of consideration for the suffering of book readers, actors Kit Harington and Maisie Williams have both taken to media outlets to express their excitement at finally reaching the end of the story, something book readers will sadly never get to experience.

In a recent interview with BBC Newsbeat, Williams expressed excitement at moving on from Game of Thrones and being able to focus on other projects, like independent films.

“I’m really excited for Game of Thrones to finish and there’s going to be time for me to do whatever I want,” Williams said. “That’s just incredibly exciting and it will be nice to pick roles that I want to do. I can show the world what sort of actress I want to be and shape my career a little bit. On one hand it’s really nerve wracking to know that I won’t have that support blanket and safety net, but on the other hand I’m free.”

Free. Free of hoping that George R. R. R. R. Martin will stop doing whatever the hell he’s doing and just finish his god damn book series. What does that feel like? We wish we knew. Oh god, we wish we knew.

Harington, for his part, spoke to the Guardian where he expressed a similar sentiment to Williams.

“I’m glad I’ve experienced it, but that’s what I mean about it being eight years, then it’s done,” said Harington, referring to the attention that comes with playing sexy heartthrob Jon Snow.  “You couldn’t go on for much longer. It’s a bit incessant.”

Of course, book readers have waited almost 8 years just between the fifth and sixth installments of the series. You know nothing, Jon Snow. Nothing of our suffering.

“No more swords, no more horses – and maybe I can cut my hair,” Harington mused. Closure. Moving on to something new. Isn’t that nice for him?

At the time of writing this sentence, it has been six years, three months, twenty-three days, ten hours, two minutes, and thirty-two seconds since the last book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, A Dance With Dragons, was released.

 

(Last Updated November 3, 2017 9:06 am )

About Jude Terror

Former siterunner of TheOuthousers.com during its golden age, Jude Terror now delivers his modern take on entertainment journalism EXCLUSIVELY to the readers of Bleeding Cool, whether they like it or not.

View All Posts