Shonda Rhimes, 'SNL' Cast Among TV Academy's Hall Of Fame Inductees

In recognition of those who made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences, or management of television through their life's work and achievements, the Television Academy announced the inductees for its 24th Hall of Fame class.

With a ceremony set for November 15th at their Saban Media Center, the Television Academy will welcome honorees John Wells (ER, The West Wing); Shonda Rhimes (Grey's Anatomy, Scandal); art director / production designer Roy Christopher (NewsRadio, Murphy Brown); the original Saturday Night Live cast; and posthumously, Joan Rivers (Spaceballs).

tv academy inductees

"All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture. We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations."

– Hayma Washington, Chairman and CEO of the Television Academy

NBC's Saturday Night Live just premiered its 43rd season less than than two weeks ago, coming off of a season where the show has enjoyed its highest ratings in years and a record number of Emmy nominations and wins.

The Television Academy is recognizing the show's nearly half-century run by inducting the original "Not Ready For Prime Time Players": Dan Aykroyd (Ghostbusters); John Belushi (The Blues Brothers); Chevy Chase (Foul Play); Jane Curtin (3rd Rock from the Sun); Garrett Morris (The Jamie Foxx Show), Laraine Newman (Metalocalypse) and Gilda Radner (Haunted Honeymoon).

"Television's evolution can be attributed to the substantial work of numerous individuals. It is a pleasure to honor a group whose contributions have had and will continue to have a powerful influence on our ever exciting and evolving industry."

– Rick Rosen, Head of Television, WME / Chairman, Hall of Fame Selection Committee

tv academy inductees

This year's Television Academy Hall of Fame Selection Committee consisted of Rosen; producer Marcy Carsey; NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group chairman Bonnie Hammer; The Fred Silverman Company founder Fred Silverman; and former CBS Entertainment president Nina Tassler.

About Ray Flook

Proudly serving as TV Editor, Ray started with Bleeding Cool in 2013 as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought aboard as staff in 2017. Counting John Cusack as his pop culture "spirit animal," his "word fu" stays strong as he continues trying really hard to be the sheppard...

twitter   facebook square   instagram   envelope