All Of Those Comics, And Charles Soule Still Found Time To Write A Novel

Posted by July 18, 2017 Comment

Human comic book writing machine Charles Soule has announced a new prose novel, his first, heading to stores in April, 2018. Called The Oracle Year, the book is about “a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.”

The writer of Astonishing X-Men, Daredevil, Star Wars: Poe Dameron, Darth Vader, Curse Words, Uncanny Inhumans, Inhumans vs. X-Men, Letter 44, and more, and the man who successfully killed Wolverine giving us 144 glorious weeks (and counting) without Marvel’s favorite Mary Sue, Soule has accomplished pretty much all there is to accomplish in comics, just as he conquered the legal world before, so it’s only natural that he would want to expand into prose.

Could Soule’s push into the respectable world of prose fiction have anything to do with Marvel’s plans to undo his greatest achievement by bringing the original Wolverine back from the dead for Generations? There’s absolutely no evidence to support this baseless speculation, but there’s no evidence denying it either, so we’re going to have to treat it as a legitimate possibility.

The Oracle Year is set to hit bookstores on April 3, and is available for preorder through various outlets here. Here’s the description:

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He’s also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it’s come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it’s all Will can do just to survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule’s audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it’s impossible to predict what will happen next.

(Last Updated July 18, 2017 8:23 pm )