Brian Bendis, Stan Lee And Bill Sienkiewicz Join Angoulême Grand Prix Long List

Photo by Kendall Whitehouse
Photo by Kendall Whitehouse

The nominations for the Angoulême Grand Prix. The winner is honoured for their lifetime’s work in the medium of comic books, becomes the President of the Angoulême comic book festival for the next year

The list will be winnowed down. But for no there are lots of recurring names and a few new ones.
  • Brian M. Bendis
  • Christian Binet
  • Christophe Blain
  • Françoise Bourgeon
  • Charles Burns
  • Pierre Christin
  • Daniel Clowes
  • Richard Corben
  • Cosey
  • Etienne Davodeau
  • Nicolas de Crécy
  • Edika
  • Carlos Giménez
  • Emmanuel Guibert
  • Hermann
  • Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • Stan Lee
  • Milo Manara
  • Taiyô Matsumoto
  • Lorenzo Mattotti
  • Frank Miller
  • Alan Moore
  • Quino
  • Riad Sattouf
  • Joann Sfar
  • Bill Sienkiewicz
  • Jirô Taniguchi
  • Naoki Urasawa
  • Jean Van Hamme
  • Chris Ware
Alan Moore is a perennial candidate, but since he said he would refuse, it’s probable he will again be outvoted. Hermann has said the last year he would accept it if he won. Having been a finalist last year with Moore and this year’s winner Katsuhiro Otomo, he is the current favorite.

Jodorowsky and Miller could well be among the finalists. Maybe Taniguchi, Christin or Sfar too…

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.