Things To Do In Toronto In August If You Like Comics

Diana McCallum writes for Bleeding Cool:

Saturday, August 23rd

1 Ladies Night

Ladies Night Returns at the Comic Book Lounge and Gallery on August 23rd, 2014 from 8pm to midnight. This is “Toronto’s premiere event exclusively for female fandom” and gives girls the chance to network, browse shelves and talk comics in a safe and supportive environment. The event is dedicated to Debra Jane Shelly, the original organizer of Ladies Night and beloved member of the Toronto comic book community, who passed away earlier this year. The Comic Book Lounge and Gallery can be found at 587A College Street in Toronto. Admission is free.

Wednesday, August 27th

2 - wayward launch

Wayward is a new series from Image Comics, Jim Zub, and artist Steven Cummings that focuses on a young woman new to Tokyo, trying to reconnect with her mother while fighting traditional Japanese monsters and demons and stuff. To celebrate the launch of Wayward #1 the creators are having a Launch Party featuring author Jim Zub, and cover artists Kalman Andrasofszky, Alina Urusov, Adam Warren, and Chip Zdarsky. The event is Wednesday, August 27th, 6pm-8pm (with presentation at 7pm) at Guu Sakabar, 559 Bloor Street W, Toronto. The event is free to attend. Copies of the book will be available for sale (including variants), and the artists will be on hand as well.

Thursday August 28th – Sunday, August 31st

3 fan expo

Fan Expo is the biggest convention in Canada and it’s happening in Toronto from August 28th – August 31st at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. This year’s guests include huge stars such as Matt Smith, Nathan Fillion, Patrick Stewart, Dave Bautista, Stan Lee, the cast of The Walking Dead and many others. But it’s not all movie and TV stars, Fan Expo also has a great line up of comics related activities, including portfolio reviews, sketch duels, panels from DC and Marvel comics, and a slew of comic book guests like Brian Azzarello, Steve Epting, Jason Fabok, David Finch, Dan Slott and many more. Ticket prices, full guest list and schedule of events can all be found at Fan Expo’s website.

Friday, August 29th

4 cosplay ball

Nerd North Media presents their biggest event of the year, GEEKPRON’S Cosplay Ball at the Virgin Mobile Mod Club, Friday August 29th starting at 9pm. After spending the day on the con floor move to the dance floor to see amazing acts like fire sword battles, aerial performances and nerdy burlesque performances. This event is 19+ and tickets are $15 in advance and $20 at the door.

Friday August 29th and Saturday August 30th

5 nerd night

The nerdy and musically inclined won’t want to miss Nerd Noise Night, presented in conjunction with Fan Expo. Canada’s Premiere Nerd Music Party starts at 9pm on August 29th and August 30th, with different line ups each night, including humorous and nerdy acts like brentalfloss, Wordburglar, Nerds with Guitars and more. Nerd Noise Night is happening at the Horseshoe Tavern at 370 Queen Street W. The shows are 19+ and all tickets are $10.

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.