Things To Do In London In June If You Like Comics (UPDATE)

Posted by May 29, 2014 Comment

Live in London? Visiting? Can get here on the train? Well there’s plenty to do in the comics world in the city through June… here are a few. Send in more and I’ll update!

Through June

Orbital Comics

Exhibition spotlighting the work of Shaky Kane on Elephantmen & more.  Orbital-exclusive print, which will come signed by Shaky Kane and Elephantmen creator Richard Starkings.

ElephantmenSigning

Curator led tours of the British Library’s Comics Unmasked: Art And Anarchy In The UK

Tue 3 June 18.30
Thu 12 June 15.30
Tue 17 June 18.30
Thu 26 June 15.30

Until 8th June

Cartoon Museum

Spitting Image Exhibition

This exhibition looks at the partnership between artists Peter Fluck and Roger Law, whose talent for three-dimensional caricature formed the bedrock for the complex creation that would become Spitting Image. It includes images of the satirical sculptures created by ‘Luck and Flaw’ in the 1970s and ’80s for magazines such as National Lampoon, Men Only, Der Spiegel, The New York TimesThe Sunday Times Magazine and many others. Featured are Spitting Image caricature drawings and photographs of, amongst others, Paul McCartney, Michael Jackson, Kate Moss, Saddam Hussein, Billy Connolly, Rupert Murdoch, Jo Brand and John Paul II, not forgetting the Royal Family, Margaret Thatcher’s cabinet and her political opponents. Also on show will be ceramic teapots of Margaret Thatcher, Royal eggcups, books and magazines, dog chews and other ephemera.

Friday June 6th, Saturday June 7th, 6.30pm-8.30pm

Conference Centre, British Library

Dave McKean: 9 Lives

mckean-devil-411x195

In a UK premiere live performance, artist Dave McKean and fellow musicians includingIain Ballamy present a his sequence of original songs and stories accompanied by a collection of images, film clips and animation.

Saturday June 7th, 2pm-4pm

Orbital Comics

Rob WilliamsTrevor HairsineLaurence Campbell and Ben Willsher for an 2000AD mega-signing, with the release of the new Judge Dredd collection FALLOUT and pre-release copies on the day.

JudgeDreddFallout

Saturday, June 7th, 9pm – 10.30pm

British Library, Conference Centre

A Night at The Good Inn, with Black Francis, Josh Frank and Steven Appleby

Pixies frontman Black Francis joins co-author Josh Frank and British artist Steven Appleby for an evening of film and literature. This unique event celebrates the publication of their new book The Good Inn [SelfMadeHero], a bold and visually arresting novel about art, conflict and the pioneers of early cinema.

The evening includes the screening of two of the early classic French surrealist shorts that inspired the book: Buñuel’s masterpiece, Un Chien Andalou (1929), and Méliès’s ground-breaking A Trip to the Moon (1902) featuring a new score by French musical duo Air. This is followed by an on-stage discussion with Black Francis, Josh Frank and Steven Appleby, chaired by David Quantick.

After the event there will be a book signing by all three and some classic Parisian libations at the bar, with a free drink for all ticket-holders.

Wednesday, June 11th onwards

Cartoon Museum

Never Again! World War I in Cartoon and Comic Art

The exhibition will include political and joke cartoons, comic postcards and cigarette cards, trench publications by serving soldiers, books, comics and other material by a wide range of professional and amateur artists giving an insight into both official and personal responses to the war. It will include work by Bruce Bairnsfather, W.K. Haselden, William Heath Robinson, H.M. Bateman, Bernard Partridge, Donald McGill, George ‘Sidney’ Strube and many others.

Friday, June 13th, 7pm – 9.30pm

Orbital Comics

The launch of Rachael Smith‘s debut graphic novel Launch Party.

rachaelsmith-launch

Monday, June 16th, 6.30pm-8pm

Conference Centre, British Library

(Super)Hero with 1000 Faces

Heroes and superheroes have always been essential to comics: a major section of the Comics Unmasked exhibition charts the story from Dick Turpin, via Spider-Man and Modesty Blaise, to Kick Ass. But in recent decades our superheroes have become less clean-cut, darker and more complex. Meet writers Warren Ellis and Grant Morrison, and experts Will Brooker and Sarah Zaidan to find out why. Chaired by author and columnist Sam Leith.

Wednesday, June 18th, 6pm-

Forbidden Planet

Launch for The Wicked + The Divine with Jamie McKelvie and Kieron Gillen.

 

Thursday, June 19th, 6.30pm-8.30pm

PACCAR Gallery, British Library

Becoming a Graphic Novelist – Subverting Stereotypes (Short course)

Characterisation in comics has come a long way from superheroes. Drawing on autobiographical experience, we will take inspiration from the extraordinary creations in the Comics Unmasked exhibition, from the work of Posy Simmonds and Asia Alfasi to Grayson Perry, and the collaboration of Mary and Brian Talbot.

This workshop is for beginners and students and includes exclusive after-hours entry to the Comics Unmasked exhibition.

Saturday, June 21st, 2pm – 3pm

Gosh Comics

 Shaky Kane and David Quantick signing copies of Image Comics’ “That’s Because You’re a Robot”.

shakyweb

Wednesday 25th June, 6.30pm-8.30pm

PACCAR Gallery, British Library

Becoming a Graphic Novelist – Who is in Charge? The dynamics of image and text (Short course)

The charged and fluid relationship between image and text are at the heart of the comics form. Using extraordinary sources from the Comics Unmasked exhibition, including Mayan codices and a comic by William Burroughs, we will explore how you can make image and text work for you to maximise the impact of both your comic writing and drawing.

This workshop is for beginners and students and includes exclusive after-hours entry to the Comics Unmasked exhibition.

Thursday 26th June, 6.30pm-8.30pm

PACCAR Gallery, British Library

Mastering the Graphic Novel – Playing with Fire: Sex, subversion and the Self (Short course)

Comics is a form which is constantly reinventing itself. Using highlights from the exhibition, from the controversial and powerfully subversive comic Nasty Tales and the underground magazine Oz to the sophisticated eroticism of Melinda Gebbie and Alan Moore’s Lost Girls, we will explore how to deepen your characterisation and create a more intimate, immersive reading experience.

This is an intermediate to advance workshop aimed at those who already have a portfolio of work or a graphic novel in development. Includes exclusive after-hours entry to the Comics Unmasked exhibition.

Friday 27th June, 6.30pm-8pm

Conference Centre, British Library

Tank Girl and the Aftermath: Jamie Hewlett and Alan Martin

Tank Girl, the rebellious, punk-spirited comic-book outlaw, first appeared in Deadline in 1988, but rapidly became a global icon of female empowerment. Her creators, artist – and later co-founder of the virtual band, Gorillaz – Jamie Hewlett, and writer Alan Martin share a rare event.

 

(Last Updated May 30, 2014 7:06 am )

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

View All Posts

Contact Author

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.