Frank Thorne’s Red Sonja Art Edition Review And Volume 2

Posted by May 19, 2014 Comment

FTRSArtEdCoverSometimes writing for a comic realted website/blog has perks you don’t see coming. Like receiving a copy of Frank Thorne’s Red Sonja Art Edition from Dynamite. I remember reading some Red Sonja books back in my formative youth and they way Frank Thorne drew her definitely made me look for more issues when I went to the local 7Eleven.

This over sized tome is 120 pages of full-sized Red Sonja goodness. Now the writer in me wants everyone to know that Bruce Jones and Roy Thomas wrote the stories we see here. Six full issues from Marvel Feature #2 through #7 that were published around 1975.  I find it a bit amazing that they were able to recover all of these pages to tell a complete story arc.

Each page is full-sized with the word balloons and dialogue hand lettered on to the art. The pages have grayed/tanned with age of course and you can see every correction and white-out mark the artist had to make. Seeing these pages as they were drawn really highlights Thorne’s work beautifully. The page stock and cover quality gives you the feel like you are flipping through the original art.

The book is not only a lot of fun to look at but also to read. Like most of the artist editions that are coming out, this one carries a pretty steep price tag, but for fans of Red Sonja, Frank Thorne or just folks who love seeing the art how it was originally done… this book is worth picking up. You can find it for yourself here.

MF0214Formatted MF0306Formatted MF0322Formatted MF0401Formatted MF0701FormattedThorneRSPageC

Now I was going to end of the article here, but over the weekend Dynamite announced a Frank Thorne’s Red Sonja Art Edition Volume 2 coming out in August. This one will focus on the first six issues from the 1977 Red Sonja series. The book will be limited to 1,973 copies in honor of the year the character was created.

“HEADS UP all you stalwart Sonja fans, Volume 2 of the SCARLET SIREN’S adventure’s is about to launch,” says Frank Thorne. “Volume 2 is JAM-PACKED with action and intrigue that YOU CAN’T ARRORD to miss! So she’s cleared for takeoff and destined to be a VITAL ADDITION to your collection!”

With any luck, Dynamite will feel the desire to send me the second volume when it comes out. Frank Thorne Vol 2

Layout 1 Layout 1 Layout 1 Layout 1 Layout 1 Layout 1

About Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.

View All Posts

Contact Author

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.