Things To Do In London This Week If You Like Comics – Miracleman And Numbercruncher

Posted by January 14, 2014 Comment

Wednesday 15th January

miracleman

Orbital Comics: Miracleman #1 signing with artist/co-writer Garry Leach, from 5pm.

And from 6pm… Si Spurrier signing Numbercruncher at Forbidden Planet.

Thursday 16th

graphic novel poster

Creating a Graphic Novel (six week course run by Simone Lia) begins. 57 Arts, 57 Loampit Hill London SE13 7SZ.

This practical and informal course is for anyone who would like to explore their own creativity and create narratives with words and pictures. All backgrounds are welcome; the workshops are suitable for beginners who do not have formal art training.

Four sessions will be run on consecutive weeks with drawing workshops that help explore creativity and story telling through sequential art. The sessions will help prepare students to write their own graphic novel. There will be a two week break after the fourth session to allow each person time to work on a fuller story to share with the group.

The next course begins on the 16th January, Thursday evenings between 6-9pm and costs £150 or £120 for concessions.

Please bring any favourite drawing pens/pencils and eraser. Other materials and refreshments included.

 

Friday 17thcoverfurtraptemp

The Fur Trap release party. Courtyard Theatre, Free. Bowling Green Walk, 40 Pitfield Street, N1 6EU.

Catapulte Records’s new release, The Furv Trap a rock n’ roll fairy tale ! Original story and illustrations by Kevin Ward. Music by Kevin Ward and ‘Les Tuques du Mal’. Books, 7” and original artworks available + The official Fur Trap band LIVE on Stage.

2115Monday 20th January

Laydeez Do Comics 6:30pm – 8:30pm, Foyles,  113 – 119 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0EB, Free, reserve a place here.

Since its launch by Nicola Streeten and Sarah Lightman in 2009, Laydeez Do Comics has been the UK’s foremost women-led graphic novel forum. Its focus on domestic and autobiographical narratives and the drama of the everyday, and its social evenings provide a friendly and inspiring atmosphere for emerging artists and established practitioners to test new works and ideas. All are welcome: men and women; those with no knowledge of comics and those already immersed. Wine and home-baked cakes are served too!

This month’s speakers are Isabel Greenberg, Penelope Mendonca and Dr Geraldine Perriam.

 

(Last Updated January 13, 2014 11:22 am )