Jim Woodring Wins Jury Prize At Angoulême – And Other Awards

I know, I know, how provincial, a US-based website goes and puts the US comic creator who won the jury prize at Angoulême in the headline. Guilty as charged. But here are the full list of winners, as presented at Angoulême today, at the show’s closing ceremony.

(Pictured, French Minister of Culture and Communication Frederic Mitterand getting Art Spiegelman’s attention.)

The Prix Jeunesse, as previously reported for children’s comics, went to Zombillénium Vol 2 by Arthur de Pins from Dupuis.

Le Prix d’Angoulême de la BD scolaire, for students, went to the 14 years old Valentin Morice for his comics work on music.

Le Prix Jeunes Talents, goes to young authors who haven’t had professional publication. This year, they went to Jérémie Moreau for Le Suicidaire Altruiste. and Mathieu Zanellato d’Angoulême for Amour Vache. That’s “Love Cow”, folks.

The blogging prize went to Marie Spénale, for his blog Les Lapins roses ne courent plus dans les champs.

Le Prix de la bande dessinée alternative for alternative comics, went to Kus! No. 9, a magazine published in Riga in Latvia.

Le Fauve d’Angoulême – Prix de la BD, the best comics award from the FNAC judges went to Portugal by Cyril Pedrosa from Dupuis.

Le Fauve Polar, for crime comics, went to Intrus à l’étrange by Simon Hureau from La Boîte à bulles, with special mentions to La Faute aux chinois by François Ravard and Aurélien Ducoudray from Futuropolis.

Le Fauve Patrimoine, the archival award, went to La Dynastie Donald Duck – L’intégrale, that’s the Complete Donald Duck Vol folks, by Carl Barks from Glénat.

Le Fauve Révélation, awarded to relatively new creators, went to TMLP – Ta mère la pute, or “Your mother’s a bitch” by Gilles Rochier from 6 Pieds sous terre.

Le Fauve de l’Audace, the most audacious comic, went to Teddy Beat, by Morgan Navarro from Les Requins Marteaux.

Le Fauve Regards sur le monde, the award for comics that “look at the world”, went to Une vie dans les marges by Yoshihiro Tatsumi from Cornélius.

Le Fauve Intergénérations, the all ages award, went to Bride Stories by Kaoru Mori from Ki-oon.

Le Fauve de la Série, best Series, went to Cité 14, Saison 2, tome 1 : Chers corrompus by Pierre Gabus et Romuald Reutimann from Les Humanoïdes Associés.

Le Fauve Prix Spécial du Jury, the Jury Special Prize, went to Frank et le congrès des bêtes, by Jim Woodring from L’Association.

Le Fauve d’Or, for the best comic of the year, went to Chroniques de Jérusalem by Canadian creator Guy Delisle from Delcourt.

And as we mentioned earlier, the Grand Prix, and President of Angouleme for the next year, was passed from Art Spiegelman to JC Denis.

Respect was also given to a number of comic creators who have left us in 2011.

Alain Voss 1946 writer/artist.
Paul Gillon 1926, writer/artist.
Thierry Martens 1942, editor.
Jean Tabary 1930, writer/artist.
Daniel Hulet 1945, writer/artist.
Jean-Paul Mougin 1941, publisher of the magazine À Suivre.
Gilles Chaillet 1946, writer/artist.
Sergio Bonelli 1932, editor.
Albert Weinberg 1922, writer/artist.

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   globe