+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Kabam

  1. #1
    Bleeding Cool khuxford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    5,572

    Default Kabam

    Kabam seems to be an online gaming company. They advertise here at BC. I've not seen their ads on any other site and I've not done business with them (never signed up for one of their games).

    I've received at least two e-mails advertising new gaming offerings from them at the same address I have registered for my account here at BC.

    Now it isn't a case of 2+2=4, but I'd be lying if I said it didn't feel like that.
    _______________________________________________
    RIP Jens

    SCHWAPP!!!
    My stab at pro-worker propaganda

  2. #2
    Administrator Mark Seifert's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    The Cloud City of Avataria
    Posts
    2,628

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khuxford View Post
    Now it isn't a case of 2+2=4, but I'd be lying if I said it didn't feel like that.
    For the record -- We've never used those emails for anything other than contacting posters individually when necessary. We have never shared those emails with Kabam or any other company, and will not.

    Sorry, Khuxford, I don't know how they got your email, but we did not give or sell it to them.

    edited to add -- fwiw, that is adsense, and the frequency they're appearing implies they are spending a lot of advertising money web-wide. It is certainly within the realm of possibility that they are using mailing lists they have obtained from other places.
    Last edited by Mark Seifert; 01-16-2012 at 06:48 PM.
    Avatar Press on: twitter | flickr | youtube | avatarpress.com

  3. #3
    Bleeding Cool khuxford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    5,572

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Seifert View Post
    For the record -- We've never used those emails for anything other than contacting posters individually when necessary. We have never shared those emails with Kabam or any other company, and will not.

    Sorry, Khuxford, I don't know how they got your email, but we did not give or sell it to them.

    edited to add -- fwiw, that is adsense, and the frequency they're appearing implies they are spending a lot of advertising money web-wide. It is certainly within the realm of possibility that they are using mailing lists they have obtained from other places.
    Thanks. Despite how I worded it, this was basically what I was looking for: a definitive statement that it wasn't from BC and that my information is safe with the site.

    I appreciate the quick response.
    _______________________________________________
    RIP Jens

    SCHWAPP!!!
    My stab at pro-worker propaganda

  4. #4
    Administrator Mark Seifert's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    The Cloud City of Avataria
    Posts
    2,628

    Default

    Huh, doing a little research, they are a much bigger company than I would have guessed -- though I know massively multiplayer dev is extremely expensive. In any case, I will keep an eye out.
    Avatar Press on: twitter | flickr | youtube | avatarpress.com

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts