Retailers Await DC Comics’ Decision Over Digital Distribution

Last week Bleeding Cool pointed out that DC titles were available through ComiXology on Wednesday at 9am GMT, 4am ET and 1am PT. We thought it may have been an error. It wasn’t.

It coincides with DC’s decision to distribute individual comic titles through Kindle, Nook and the like, and the coinciding of distribution titles across all platforms, including ComiXology. And since that is the time that these new platforms update, so everyone updates at that time, all able to sell the comics simultaneously.

Unless you are a West Coast retailer, then you have to wait ten hours or so.

Naturally retailers have been rather concerned about this change and have been expressing their concern. DC Comics have let it be known that a letter to the direct market is imminent addressing the issue – and even changing what retailers can or cannot do as a result.

This suggests the possibility that Tuesday-arrival stores may be allowed to sell comics on the Tuesday, rather than wait for the Wednesday. Or that universal digital sales may change to Thursday early morning rather than Wednesday early morning.

Or something else.

Expect news soon…

Free Comic Book Day Is Anything But Free

universalmonsters

Universal Sets Monster Movie Release Date

Crossed98-ArtDeco

Cinema Purgatorio, Crossed: Badlands And War Stories This Week From Avatar Press

Talking To Frank Cho, Man Of Outrage, About Attracting Women

Legends-of-Tomorrow-Promo-Image-DC-CW-2016

Legends Of Tomorrow Seeks Han Solo-Type And WWII African-American Fighter For Season Two

Brian Wood And Mack Chater Launch Briggs Land From Dark Horse In August – And AMC To Come

mosaic0

What Could Mosaic Mean For An Inhuman?

AgentCarter1

Trouble Ahead For Agent Carter And Marvel’s Most Wanted?

Why Renato Jones: The One% Is A Sticky-From-Champagne Birdy-Flip Of A Comic Book

Klaus_005_A_Main

“Only One Man Has To Work At Yuletime And That’s Me” Advance Review Klaus #5